An Unexpected Ride

About four years ago, my mom’s side of the family planned a get-together at my aunt’s house in Sacramento. At the time I did not have a car of my own but whenever there was a family gathering at my aunt’s house, my mom and step-dad who live in Ukiah, would pass through Rohnert Park where I was living at the time, and pick me up. On this particular occasion, my parents had taken a trip several days before we were to meet with the family and they planned to drive directly to Sacramento from where they were staying. This left me without a ride and totally bummed I would have to miss out on seeing everyone.

That morning I worked an early shift and was scheduled to be off at 10 or 11. About 10 minutes before I got off, a regular customer of mine came in to get a drink. She was a young teacher at a high school in Santa Rosa who I typically saw at least four times a week. We got to know one another a little bit over the previous year and a half I had been working at that particular Starbucks and I happened to know from previous conversations her parents lived in the Sacramento area. As I often do with customers, especially on Saturdays, I asked her what her plans were for the day. To my disbelief, she told me she was on her way right then to see her folks! I had to ask a couple of times over to make sure I heard her correctly before daring to ask if I might be able to hitch a ride. She said that would be fine and was so gracious to follow me to my house to allow me to change out of my work clothes before we hit the road. Had I been off shortly before she arrived, on a break in the back room or still had awhile longer to work before the end of my shift, it never would have worked out. She could have decided not to stop at Starbucks or we could have talked about a number of other things besides her plans for the day. But no. Though she had planned to leave a bit earlier in the morning, she was not running late according to God’s sovereignty.

The cherry on top of this perfectly ripe banana was the conversation we had on the ride over. One thing I had never learned about her was she too has a relationship with Jesus and knows the peace, hope and joy of living life His way. She not only was a customer and new friend, but more importantly, a fellow sister in God’s family.

“Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God- children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God.”

~ John 1:12-13

Have a comment, question or related story of your own? Please share in a comment below!

