Free Flight

In the fall of my second year at Multnomah I received a wedding invitation from one of my closest friends from high school. He and a number of other friends from our high school youth group were attending The Master’s College in Santa Clarita, CA and it was there he met his beautiful bride.
Going to Multnomah was a huge leap of faith for me because I had no idea how I would pay for tuition. All I knew, with absolute certainty, was that was where God wanted me to go. With “peace that passes understanding,” I packed my bags and moved to Portland in the fall of 2003. While there I was repeatedly amazed at the ways God provided for me but rarely if ever during my time in Oregon, did I have much in the way of a surplus. Just as God provided manna for the Israelites in the desert one day at a time, so he provided for me, one bill, one tuition payment, one unexpected expense at a time to teach me to trust Him. He has faithfully provided for all my needs just as He promises to do for everyone who puts their trust in Him.
Because the expense of going to my friend’s wedding was anything but a need, I resigned myself to the thought it was not going to work out to go. Then came Christmas break…

My parents paid for me to fly home for Christmas. The trip home went quickly and before I knew it, I was back at the Sacramento airport saying goodbye. After waiting through an extra long security line, I was just approaching my gate when I heard the attendants announce they had overbooked the flight. Had I been even a minute later walking up to the gate, I would not have heard the announcement. They were looking for four volunteers to wait until the next flight to Portland which was scheduled to leave a couple of hours later. I did not have anything pressing I needed to get back to Portland for so I proceeded to walk up to the counter just as a handful of others came up right behind me. I offered to wait for the next flight but just as I did, the flight attendant announced that those who gave up their seats would be reimbursed for the cost of the flight in addition to being given a $200 voucher. Should it have come as any surprise the cost of the plane ticket I needed to fly to L.A. a few months later came out to be exactly what the vouchers were for? Why do I continually find myself surprised when God steps in and shows Himself yet again to be the loving Father He claims to be?

If I only had a small isolated number of stories like these, I might easily see how others could excuse them as a strange coincidence but there are so many more! I pray God would open all our eyes to see the infinite number of ways He is working in and through us to accomplish His goals, promote His glory and work for our good. Please stay tuned and feel free to share your own stories in the comment box at the bottom of the page.

One thought on “Free Flight

  1. I love it that God, who knows the future as well as the past, plans in advance to provide what we need to do His work in His timing. It was a fun wedding and great to see you there! 🙂

    Like

Have a comment, question or related story of your own? Please share in a comment below!

