March/April Update

Sent May 2, 2012

 Ciao Tutti!

“Grace and peace be yours in abundance through the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord” 2 Peter 1:2

As my dad often says, “here is all the news fit to print:”

  • My trip to Israel at the end of March was wonderful!!!! Our group of 37, mostly from my home church were awesome and a pure joy to travel with! Thank you to all who prayed for us! If you are interested in hearing about our adventures, I would be delighted to share as little or as much as you’d like, all you need to do is ask! 🙂
  • As of today it has been decided I will wait until early next year to move to Sicily. My ambition is to be a blessing to the staff and students at the Italian Theological Academy (ITA) and for me to move this summer while ITA is in the thick of their busiest time of year will likely produce the opposite effect. While several people have told me they are sorry to hear this news, I am not. Yes, I would love to be leaving this summer, but only if it were the Lord’s timing for me to go. He has reminded me several times in the last week just how sovereign He is over everything. Last week I was disappointed when a friend was unable to meet me for coffee. I decided to try a different coffee shop on my own and there ran into an acquaintance I had not seen in a couple of years (and enjoyed the most amazing pesto scone ever! :). It was a fresh reminder God always has a bigger, better plan and to trust when the plans I have made are changed, it is always for my good and His glory.
  • Prayer requests: It is my hope and prayer with the extra 6-8 months I have before I leave, I will use the time wisely and it will prove to be a rich time of growth, preparation, opportunities to connect with and encourage friends and family, and even find ways to be a blessing to Aurora Mission and Christian Associates (CA) while still here in California. Please pray for Aurora and CA, that God will bless their ministries and use them to strengthen his Church and expand his kingdom. Pray for those serving with these organizations that they would be encouraged and effective in the work God has called them to.
  • My last piece of news is to announce my website has officially launched! You can check it out at: https://faithfulstill.wordpress.com/ I am especially excited to share my “ripe banana stories” with you; I trust the Holy Spirit will use them to encourage you and inspire you to share your own! If you have any feedback, recommendations, comments or questions about the site, I’m all ears!

Joyful in Him,

Hillary Cummings

*Please write me back if you have any questions, prayer requests, a more current e-mail address or if you would prefer not to receive these e-updates. If you know someone who might be interested in receiving these updates, forward this to them and have them write to me directly to subscribe. 

**If you are interested in giving financially, checks can be made out and sent to Hessel Church, just be sure to include my name on the memo line (5060 Hessel Ave, Sebastopol, CA 95472).

*** Within the next 6-9 months, I need to raise $1000 in my CA account to cover training costs. Donations to my CA account can be made online. From CA’s homepage (http://christianassociates.org/), click on the Donate button in the upper right-hand corner. Under ”Missionaries and Projects” please click on “Missionaries” and then click on “Cummings, Hillary – 40383”

Have a comment, question or related story of your own? Please share in a comment below!

