God, You Are Amazing!

Powell's City of Books in Portland, Oregon.

Another Timely Ride: Written 04/04/2012

I pulled out an old journal from college not too long ago to verify a few details for a ripe banana story I was preparing to post. While flipping through the journal to find the entry I was originally looking for, I stumbled across this one dated 01/20/2004:

God, You are amazing! Last night I needed a ride to Powell’s bookstore (about a 15-20 minute drive to downtown Portland from Multnomah’s campus), because a book I had ordered was in and I need it this week for school. Without having mentioned my need for a ride to anyone but Jen and Katie, Anne (my R.A.), came in my room and asked if I wanted to go with her to Powell’s!!!!! She had no idea I needed to go there myself but she felt like she should ask me to come along!

Of all places! Of all nights! Of all girls in our dorm section to ask! You provide for even the smallest things!!!!

I am confident I have at least 40 more stories similar to this one. God has been so faithful to provide transportation for me: whether it is a car of my own, a vehicle to barrow, a bus running 5 minutes late when I am 4.5 minutes late, gas money, company on a long drive, a bike given to me by a co-worker when mine was stolen… He has yet to give me a single reason to doubt His goodness and ability to provide. The few times I thought I needed to be somewhere and He did not provide a way for me to get there have led me to conclude that in those rare cases, I wasn’t suppose to be there after all. Never will I come up short because my Heavenly Father who made and sustains the universe by His powerful Word (Hebrews 1:1-3) was unable to provide what I needed.

“And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” ~Philippians 4:19

Have a comment, question or related story of your own? Please share in a comment below!

