“Aslan is on the move!”

AslanIn the well-known series by C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, a common saying among the subjects of the kingdom of Narnia was, “Aslan is on the move!” These loyal subjects of the king were declaring and testifying the great lion and ruler of Narnia, Aslan, had returned, Aslan was hard at work and all would soon be well. It was a statement full of anticipation and confident hope, of faith, really.

Whether it be in Sicily, Sonoma County or Timbuktu, with a similar confidence to those of the loyal Narnians, I am certain it is true that like Aslan, Jesus is on the move. He is present, active and His purposes and plans are being accomplished all around us, even when we can’t see how he is at work. He has invited us all to be apart of what he is up to wherever we find ourselves and as he leads, to support the work he is doing elsewhere in the world as well.

I am so thankful as Philippians 2:13 says,

“…for it is God who works in (us) to will and to act according to his good purpose.”

His purposes are perfect in goodness and it is He who stirs our wills and equips us with all we need to support and accomplish the good works He is calling us to be a part of.

In my case, Jesus is the one who has given me the will and desire to be a part of what he is doing in Italy. Me going to Sicily was all his idea. He has been calling me to join Him in what He is up to Sicily and while I am dreading saying goodbye to my friends and family here, I am eager to join him in what he is up to there. Please contact me if you want to know more about what I will be doing and how you can help support this particular work.

I have less than 50 days left before I leave for Sicily. I am desperately dependent on Him to come through in providing all I need in order to go but I am confident in this: God is faithful still. He does everything well and never comes up short. These things are just as true in whatever circumstances you may find yourself as they are and have been for me. Whether or not we realize it, we all are desperately dependent on Him for all we need to live from day-to-day. He is, as Hebrews 1:3 says, “sustaining all things by his powerful word.”

From my point of view, financially speaking, I am far from being ready to go. I currently have a little more than 40% of the monthly financial support I need and I must, at the minimum, be at 90% by the time I leave in 47 days. But God is faithful still. And this is his work and his doing, not mine. He knows my needs and can raise up the ministry partners I need overnight if he so chooses. It is he who calls us to participate with him in what he is doing. He is calling all of us, some to one work and some to another. He alone can and does provide for each of our needs. While trusting God is not for the faint of heart (or is it all the more so?), I am thankful for this opportunity for the faith God is growing in me to be tested and refined. I don’t want my faith to grow weak and stale, but just as the universe God has created is constantly expanding, I want my faith and understanding of just how big God really is to grow as well. Perhaps more than ever, I can identify with the words of the prophet, Habakkuk, when he affirmed:

“Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines,

and the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food,

though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls,

yet I will rejoice in God my Savior.

The Sovereign Lord is my strength;

he makes my feet like the feet of a deer,

he enables me to go on the heights.” – Habakkuk 3:17-19

A Plug for Perspectives:

Jesus is on the move! Have you responded to his call to join him in what he is up to? If you haven’t and don’t know where to start, (or even if you have and you do know where and how to start!) I’d highly recommend taking the incredible 15-week course, Perspectives on the World Christian Movement. It is being offered here in Sonoma County this Fall (2014) at the Calvary Chapel Church in Petaluma. As my friend Hollie says, “taking the Perspectives class will ruin you for the ordinary!” Wherever you are in the world, check online to find a class near you or to sign up to take the course online. If you live in or near Sonoma County, please don’t hesitate to contact me if you would like to know more about the Perspectives course.

 

If you are led to become a financial ministry partner, please visit my staff page and click on the “donate now” button.

Have a comment, question or related story of your own? Please share in a comment below!

