Inculturation

IMG_3236

As part of my inculturation, I am trying to be intentional about studying Italian history. In most any given town or city here in Italy, you will find streets, parks and piazzas named after a handful of folks who have each played a notable if not significant role in the forming and shaping of this country. I figured these well-known names might be a good starting point in learning Italian history.

My goal is to read up on at least one per week. I don’t know that I’ll post very many of them here on the blog but feel free to ask me on Facebook or via the comments below who I’m learning about any given week over the next couple of months.

This week’s hero is Giuseppe Mazzini, the namesake for the street on which I now live. Here is a link to Encyclopedia Brittanica’s description of Mazzini.

Have a comment, question or related story of your own? Please share in a comment below!

