Of Packages & Party Dresses

Does God really care what I wear to my birthday party? 

(written August 2015)

This last week I turned 33.

A week before my birthday, I found myself at a nearby shopping mall looking for a light fixture for my dining room. As I was passing by one clothing store after another, I had the following dialog with myself:

“I sure would love to have a new dress to wear to my birthday party…

Yes, but I don’t need a new dress nor should I be spending money on one…

but I don’t want to wear the same dress I wore to the last party I hosted…

but I don’t have to wear a dress. Surely I can find something nice to wear in my closet…”

…And so it continued until eventually the part of me in favor of buying a new dress resigned itself to my more practical side that had been arguing the dress wasn’t needed.

And that was end of that… until the night before the party.

Stephanie stopped by after work with two packages that had come for me. I was just heading out the door when she arrived and didn’t open the packages until later that evening. In fact, I only opened one of the two packages that night. I knew one of them in particular had a few gifts in it for Stephanie’s up coming baby shower. I wanted to make sure I opened that package when Stephanie wasn’t around so as to keep the gifts for her, a surprise. IMG_6064

The other package I set aside so I could have something to open on my birthday. Since the party went late however, I didn’t end up opening it until the morning after the party.

The box I did open the night before my birthday contained several things I had ordered on Amazon, a handful of gifts for Stephanie and the baby and, to my surprise and delight, in a small bag with my name on it, was a beautiful, magenta-colored dress.

Lord, you heard my conversation with myself about wanting a new dress to wear to the BBQ tomorrow night?!?!

As soon as I saw the dress, I grabbed it and ran to the bedroom to try it on.

As I was slipping it over my head, I remember thinking:

“This dress is my size. I know without a doubt it will fit me perfectly. I am not trying it on to see if it fits, only to see what it looks like for God would not go through the trouble of sending me a dress to wear to my birthday party only for it not to be the right size. If he knows the number of hairs on my head, surely he also knows my dress size!”

And just as I suspected, it fit perfectly.

Not only that, it was me. The color, the style… everything. 

I immediately called the friend who had sent me the dress to ask her about it. It is not often (if ever?!) I see others buying a dress for someone else. The friend who had sent the dress explained that when she first saw it in the store, she immediately thought of me. She then proceeded to return to the rack where the dress was several times over. Each time she came back to it with a strong but unexplainable gut-feeling she was suppose to buy it for me.

And buy it she did.

Had she waited just a day longer to send the package, it may not have come in time. Not to mention the fact that Stephanie could have easily waited until the next day to bring me the packages in which case I wouldn’t have opened it until the day after the party!

And yet it arrived just in time.

Just out of curiosity, I checked the postmark for when the package was sent… It was mailed August 4th, four days BEFORE the idea had even initially crossed my mind about wanting a new dress to wear for the party!! Isn’t that so like the Creator of time and space to gently prove to us again and again He cannot be contained by His own creations?

As it says in the Psalms:

“O Lord, you have searched me and you know me.

you know when I sit and when I rise;

you perceive my thoughts from afar.

You discern my going out and my lying down;

you are familiar with all my ways.

Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O Lord.

You hem me in- behind and before;

you have laid your hand upon me.”

-Psalm 139:1-5

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Of Packages & Party Dresses

  1. Beautiful thoughts which began in God’s mind and heart for you, His beloved child. Thank you for sharing a story of His love which is always beyond our imaginings.

    Like

Have a comment, question or related story of your own? Please share in a comment below!

