The Innkeeper

I’ve been thinking a lot about the innkeeper lately. You know, the one that supposedly turned Joseph and Mary away? I was just listening to some Christmas music and in the course of about an hour’s time, I heard the innkeeper mentioned at least three times.

Every time he was painted in a negative light.

Poor guy.

I am not so convinced he turned them away.

I think it is entirely possible he was the one who offered for them to stay in his barn. For it says:

“…and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because their with no room for them in the inn.” -Luke 2:7

I don’t know that the stable (or “grotto” as it is referred to in Italian) was a last resort but perhaps it was a thoughtful alternative to delivering in an over-crowded inn.

If I were a young, teenage girl, about to give birth to my first child, I would want my privacy rather than give birth in a room packed with perfect strangers.

How about you?

I think the stable may have been a great gift. Minus the smell and maybe some animal’s making some noises in the background, it seems to me it would have been just the right place for Mary to have some privacy along with some relative peace while she recovered rather than being in a crowded room in the inn.

While this musing may be pretty inconsequential, it has me wondering: what other things, both in Scripture and in life, have I let others interpret for me when perhaps, what I’ve believed all these years, may not have been just as I’ve pictured it to be?

 

One thought on “The Innkeeper

  1. Cold and alone, stuck in a barn, no one cares… Then some shepherds show up (will they kick us out of the barn?). Angeles? Confirmation of the savior being born. Shepherds who then go and wake everyone in town and tell of the Angeles and the baby in the manager. Curious housewives appear, offers of blankets, food, clothing. A place to stay. “Say Joseph asks one man, what do you do? Carpenter? I have some work that needs doing.” They felt so much at home they stayed two years and wanted to come back here when they returned from Egypt.

    Liked by 1 person

Have a comment, question or related story of your own? Please share in a comment below!

