Ripe Flowers

Divine decorations:IMG_2894

Last week, my sister in California asked if I would be at home Wednesday or Thursday evening of the same week. She said she had a surprise but couldn’t say what it was, only that I needed to be home. I was thinking perhaps my grandparents were coming to visit my sister and she was making plans to Skype with me while they were in town. When Thursday afternoon came, I asked her if I needed to have my computer on and she said no, that I was to be expecting a physical delivery. This had me quite confused but a couple hours later, the mystery was solved when a large bouquet of flowers were delivered to my door!

The flowers were a gift from the ladies in my sister’s Bible study who have been diligently praying for and encouraging me these past months.

I can’t remember the last time I was given a bouquet of flowers. Maybe for my birthday (which is in August)?

I love getting flowers.

Especially out of the blue.

And especially cut flowers.

(I have a great gift for killing live plants so cut flowers rather than potted plants, are all the better, both for me and the plants!) IMG_2896

What’s funny and not-in-the-least ironic given Jesus’ track record for giving me good and perfect gifts at just the right time is, an hour before the flowers arrived, I opened my gas bill that had arrived in the mail earlier the same day. Like many of the utilities here, the bills are sent every two months. I knew this one would be much higher than the previous bills I had received given the cold winter weather we’ve had and the consequent use of the gas-powered heating system in my house.

The bill was still much higher than anticipated.

Thursday found me busy preparing for the ladies Valentine’s Day party I hosted this past Sunday evening. I had been planning on buying a small bouquet of flowers for the party, to decorate the table. However, after opening the gas bill, I immediately determined I would have to forego buying any extra, non-essential items I had wanted to buy for the party.

This included the flowers I was planning on buying.

An hour later, the doorbell rings and a man hands me a big, beautiful arrangement of fragrant roses mixed with baby’s breath and some other beautiful flower I don’t know the name of.

Coincidence?

I think not.

But does the Maker and Sustainer of the universe really give a darn about whether or not I have flowers for the party?

Yep!

All of my experiences, not to mention God’s written Word and the unshakeable assurance that lies in the depths of my heart (a.k.a. the Holy Spirit!), confirm that I am seen, heard, known and understood completely by Him who formed me in my mother’s womb. What’s more, I am (and so are you!!), eternally, unconditionally loved by my Maker. His kindness and patience with me is endless; His love truly endures forever towards those who love and respect Him.

“He who did not spare His own son, but gave Him up for us all, how will He not also, along with Him, graciously give us all things?”

“Graciously give us all things…”

ripe bananas, pomegranates, Nutella brownieschocolate soft-serve… and yes, even bouquets of flowers.

 

Wondering why this story is called, “Ripe Flowers”?

Click here to read the original, “Ripe Banana Story.”

 

Have a comment, question or related story of your own? Please share in a comment below!

