Just Like Dad

“Be imitators of God, as beloved children.” (Ephesians 5:1)

They say imitation is the most sincere form of flattery.

As a younger sibling, I used to hear my mother quote this saying quite often to my older sister whenever my sister would get annoyed that I was copying her.

But the saying holds true: most of us are sincerely flattered when someone intentionally imitates a positive characteristic of ours or is complimented in accordance to their similarity with ourselves.

I’ve seen this to be true among new parents when someone beholds a child and immediately exclaims, “Wow! What beautiful ______ they have! They look just like their father/mother!”

What father or mother doesn’t beam at the sound of such praise?

I believe our heavenly Father and Creator is no different. He loves it when we imitate Him and when others tell us we remind them of Him.

We are all made in what in Latin, is called “Imago Dei” or, the image of God. Each of us resemble Him in many ways no other creatures do: we are relational, emotional, moral, intellectual, spiritual beings, we love to love and be loved, we feel, we think, we have free-will, we rule the earth, we love beauty, we are self-aware, we are capable of compassion, forgiveness, generosity… but each of us also have specific ways we are wired that particularly reflect the image of our Maker.

Here are a few personal examples.

I love details.

I love when God shows me in personal ways that He too, is a details-kind-of-guy. In fact, there is not a single detail He overlooks. Ever.

Some of my most mind-blowing encounters with Jesus have been when He has shown up in microscopic details that no one could possibly see but Him. It is in such details as these that He has given me tiny glimpses into His incredible immensity. (Read this story for one my favorite examples or this one)

I hate waste.

I hate to waste just about anything. I hate throwing useful things away (and I try hard to only use the word “hate” when it’s truly fitting). I love that my Father in Heaven is the same. He doesn’t let anything go to waste, perhaps least of all, our experiences and sufferings.

I love to create.

A few years ago I found a common denominator that connects most of my hobbies and past times: they are all about creating. I love baking, photography, music (guitar, piano…), dance, paper crafts, scrapbooking, making slideshows, videos, decorations, crocheting… All of these are forms of art, forms of creating. God is the ultimate Artist and Creator but we, His children, made in His image, also create and when we do, we look a lot like our Maker who designed us to be creators like Him.

I am super deliberate.

For those of you familiar with Strengthfinders, I have “deliberate” among my top 5 strengths. I know everything God does, He does with purpose and reason and I love that I am wired the same way.

 I am a “finisher.”

I love to finish what I start. On the whole, I am compulsive about finishing the tasks I start, even if they are no longer needed or helpful by the time I am finishing them. I love that my Heavenly Father is a “finisher” too. Philippians 1:6 says:

“And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.” (ESV)

I am so grateful Jesus, the Alpha and Omega, the Beginning and the End, is a finisher like me! He never starts a work He doesn’t finish.

 

For those of you who do not live in the U.S., today is Father’s Day. I am so grateful for my dad. He has given me a positive example of what it means to be brave, to embrace who God made each of us to be, to be light-hearted, big-hearted, long-suffering and how, as the writer of Ecclesiastes says, there are times in life to hold on and times when it is necessary to let go. I love you Papa!

IMG_2442

“How great is the love the Father has lavished on us that we might be called the children of God!!! And that is what we are!!” -1 John 3:1

 

Have a comment, question or related story of your own? Please share in a comment below!

